Category Archives: The Chi-Lites


Hello all. Lately I can’t seem to peel myself away from some other projects I’ve got going so I’ve got to hold off a little longer on posting up part 2 to my mix, EL AMBIENTE BIEN BABES Y BEAN DE URUGUAY. But, I’ll be posting some other mixtapes for you to bump through this fading summer, and I’ve got something else here for you today. So, I present to you—collecting much of what we have heard thus far here in these pages, and then some—a MixTape processed and sequenced for your consumption: Longevity Has It’s Place.

You can listen to the same ol’ feel-good-hit-of-the-summer rolling out your radio, or you can listen to something other spit from A Mouthful of Pennies! —Enjoy yourself!

A Mouthful of Pennies Presents: Longevity Has Its Place

——————————————————–(COME AND GET IT!)

If you download it, the playlist is listed under the “Lyrics” tab.



by A Mouthful Of Pennies (Bobby Calero)

Cover art layout and design by Keri Kroboth-Calero

1) “Longevity Has Its Place” – Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. (Mason Temple, Memphis,TN

on April 3, 1968)

2) By The Time I Get To Arizona – Public Enemy (’91)

3) Two Sisters Of Mystery – Mandrill (’73)

4) If Somebody Told You – Anna King (’63) (Produced by James Brown)

5) I Don’t Know – Ruth Brown (’59)

6) Have you seen her – The Chi-lites (’71)

7) Turn On the Light of Your Love – Four Tops (’72)

8) “Tarantulas Suffocating” – Jack Kerouac (circa late ’50s) (mixed by A Mouthful Of


9) Dope Head Blues – Victoria Spivey (’27)

10) What Would I Do Without You – Ray Charles (’56)

11) Curse of the Poppies – Wicked Witch of the West (’39) (portrayed by Margaret


12) Needle and Spoon – Savoy Brown (’69)

13) Happiness Is a Warm Gun (Lennon/McCartney) – Bobby Bryant (’69)

14) Sam Stone (John Prine ) – Swamp Dogg (’73)

15) Stalkin’ – Duane Eddy (’58)

16) Feio/“As You Walk In Forever” – Miles Davis/Charles Manson (’69/95’)

 (mixed by A Mouthful Of Pennies)

17) Serpiente (viaje por la sal) – Pescado Rabioso (’72)

18) Shake Sugaree (Elizabeth Cotten) – Devendra Banhart (live at at The Knitting

Factory, circa ’04)

19) I’m Going Away – Elizabeth Cotten (’65)

20) I Have A Dream” – Martin Luther King, Jr. (Lincoln Memorial in Washington D.C. on August 28, ’63.)

21) I Shall Be Released – Elvis Presley (May 20, ’71)

22) Robertson Soundcheck Riff – Robbie Robertson (’66 Dylan Tour)

23) It’s Alright, Ma – Bob Dylan (J.Period Remix)

—————————————Bobby Calero——————

P.S. By & by, Fifty years ago today, 250,000 people crowded onto the National Mall in front of the Lincoln Memorial. They came from all across the country for the March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom and to see Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. deliver his iconic “I Have A Dream” speech. You can revisit my post on Dr. King from January 14th 2012 over here: BREAK THE SILENCE OF THE NIGHT.


Warren Street, Hudson, NY

I spent the week leading up to New Year’s in the charming city of Hudson, N.Y. Hudson lies adjacent to the east bank of the Hudson River along the west border of Columbia County, and as you stroll along Warren Street past the numerous stores set up within historical Federal, Italianate, and Queen Anne buildings you begin to feel that you stepped onto the Main Street set of “The Wonder Years;” albeit a much more racially diverse Wonder Years than the one Kevin Arnold inhabited. While walking with a friend, he stated, “It feels like I’m walking in America.” And with its warm community and aesthetics it certainly does feel like “America.”

Well, while there I heard two songs that immediately clicked with me. The first, I heard while drinking my third deliciously dark Crossroads Black Rock Stout at the cozy bookstore, Spotty Dog Books & Ale, which is situated within the C.H. Evans firehouse, built in 1889.

The song “Stalkin‘” is from Rock ‘n’ Roll guitarist Duane Eddy’s 1958 debut album, Have ‘Twangy’ Guitar Will Travel. As the title alludes, Duane made a name for himself on the signature “twang” technique of his guitar playing, which was cooked-up by Duane and his producer/writing partner, the brilliantly idiosyncratic Lee Hazelwood (who perhaps is most famous for his duets with Nancy Sinatra, which produced hits like “These Boots Are Made For Walking” and “Some Velvet Morning”). “Eddy obtained his trademark sound by picking on the low strings of a Chet Atkins-model Gretsch 6120 hollowbody guitar, turning up the tremolo and running the signal through an echo chamber” (Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, 2010). This album features numerous talent, such as saxophonist Steve Douglas, who would go on to work as part of Phil Spector’s Wrecking Crew, as well as play on The Beach BoysPet Sounds, and Bob Dylan’s Street Legal.

Duane Eddy’s music was all about attitude and atmosphere; it’s reminiscent to me of director David Lynch’s attempts to reveal the horror and lust that lurks behind a hot-rods and Hardy Boys façade. The song “Stalkin” in particular perfectly encompasses my juvenile beliefs of what it would be like to encounter a mysterious woman…and I guess in a way I still believe it would sound exactly like this.


Like it? Buy it.

The second song that just hooked me I heard a few days later while a bunch of us were eating thick and juicy burgers at the local, farm-fresh diner, Grazin’. I ordered “The Cowboy”: grass-fed burger topped with an over easy pastured egg, cheddar cheese, and country ham—yes please! While finishing it all off with a shake a familiar melody played so sweet we all could not help but sing along. Off of the Chicago-based soul quartet The Chi-Lites’ 1971 album (For God’s Sake) Give More Power to the People, single “Have You Seen Her” is one of those perfect songs that, although it conveys such a wistful sentiment, just feels so damn good to sing along to. Co-written by lead vocalist Eugene Record along with Brunswick Records’ artist Barbara Acklin, here’s the 70s doo-wop soul classic:

——————————————————————(CLICK TO LISTEN)

Like it? Buy it.

So if you have a little time, give these a spin and take a trip up to Hudson—it feels good.

————————-Bobby Calero


Hazelwood, L. (1958). Stalkin’ [Recorded by Duane Eddy] On Have ‘Twangy’ Guitar Will Travel [CD] Jamie Records. (1958). Jamie/Guyden. (1999)

Record, E. & Acklin, B. (1971). Have You Seen Her [Recorded by The Chi-Lites] On (For God’s Sake) Give More Power to the People [CD]. Brunswick Records (1971). Edsel Records UK. (2004)

Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. (2010). Duane Eddy Biography. The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. Retrieved February 1st, 2012 from